Belated Fuisms

I know Fuisms are so last-week, but Molly’s imaginary friends just sent her a few contributions. They are, admittedly, a little slow.

When I made the decision to review ministers’ salaries in 2011, decency was not a key factor. Loss of votes, public scrutiny on myself and my colleagues and the potential loss of power were. The need create a façade of change was also an important consideration. I had some ground to believe that my family would not suffer any change in the standard of living even though I would experience a drop in income. So it is even if I were to take another 50% pay cut. If the balance is tilted further in the future, I would simply not let my children join politics. ~ lhl

*

When I made the decision to step down as a minister in 2011, making way for younger ministers was not a key factor. Loss of one-party dominance, public discontent, and other hard truths were. The impact on my son’s career was also an important consideration. I had some ground to believe that my son would be able avoid a drastic drop in vote share even though I would lose my position (without losing much power). So it is with Goh’s departure from the Cabinet. If the balance is tilted further in the future, it will make it harder for dead statesmen to return from the grave to resume power. ~ lky

*

When I made the decision to join Facebook, communication was not a key factor. Loss of privacy, public scrutiny on myself and loss of personal time were. The need to earn political capital by condescending to make friends with the electorate was also an important consideration. I had some ground to believe that my income would not suffer a drastic drop even though I had to put up with pesky netizens. So it was until the recent pay cut. 😦 If the balance is tilted further in the future, I would regret wasting my time on social media and politics. ~ Fuism Founder

7 Responses

  1. I want to add mine as well! 🙂

    “When I made the decision to compile and write Singapore Sucks! in 2010, pay was not a key factor. Kena sued for defamation and having my book “reviewed” by MDA were. The disruption to my personal life was also an important consideration. I had some ground to believe that my WoW clan and I would not suffer a drastic change in the standard of gaming but I no longer have time to farm gold in the WoW. I fear if the balance is tilted further in the future, my clan will just sack me and find a new player.”

    • lol. So what’s the latest status of the book?

      • Already out in the market. Bought one at Kini

      • Status unknown.

        The book is still on the shelves of Kinokuniya’s outlets in Singapore and Mary Martin Booksellers (at Bras Basah) is still selling. However, the book still needs to be reviewed by MDA.

        Would you like to write a review for the book? 🙂

        • When I manage to get hold of a copy and some time to read it. I thought Kino was told to take the books down from the shelves? Bookweb doesn’t yield any results.

          • Hi Molly, copies of Singapore Sucks! were removed from the shelves at one point, but they are selling the book once again.

            You can find copies of Singapore Sucks! at Kinokuniya’s outlets, but you will not find it listed on their online database. It used to be up there but they removed it.

            Don’t ask me why. I have no idea.

            You will have to call them up and find out if there are still any copies left on the shelves and make a trip down yourself.

Leave a Reply

